Foundation Receives Award

The New York Farm Bureau Foundation Receives Award

The “Cap” Creal Journalism Award was created in 1978, named for Harold “Cap” Creal, it is designed to recognize and encourage positive and accurate media coverage of events, people and issues related to New York State agriculture. The New York Farm Bureau Foundation’s Video Series “Meet Your Farmer” was nominated and received recognition at the January 2018 Forum.

Awards are presented in the categories of a variety of media formats and forms. Eligibility requirements include New York State coverage; published or aired in professional media that is available to the public; be authored or produced by the person with the byline or credit; published or aired between September 10, 2016 and 2017.

Categories include many areas from printed news story to published story focusing on immediacy and facts to printed feature story, a printed series, editorials, audio/video news clip and features for TV and radio and the internet; blogs/online features and photographs. The award is sponsored by the New York State Agricultural Society and Alpha Gamma Rho Fraternity, Zeta Chapter at Cornell University.

The YouTube project was created to bring consumers closer to the farmers who produce their food. This new video series entitled “Meet Your Farmer” can be viewed by the public online through the Foundation’s YouTube and social media pages, and the Foundation’s website at

The videos feature New York farm families talking about their farms and their passion for growing food and caring for their land and animals. The project fits into the Foundation’s mission of sowing the seeds of understanding to educate the public about modern day agriculture.

The first farms to be showcased in the series include McCormick Farms in Bliss, NY, CY Farms in Elba, NY and Orbaker’s Fruit Farm in Williamson, NY. The Foundation will soon add more farms to this ongoing project. Our thanks for this wonderful award, that helps us to highlight even further the farm families of New York State.